One of my goals for health and wellness is to avoid using anything that contains petroleum products. Once you start paying close attention to the ingredients in many common hair and skin care products, you will find that there is almost always some form of petroleum product listed. Petroleum products are refined from crude oil a crude oil that is very toxic nonetheless. It can be refined into a number of products, such as mineral oil, petroleum jelly, petrolatum, paraffin waxes, microcrystalline waxes, and more, all of which are very common ingredients in skin and hair care products.

Arnica salve is a staple in my home. We use it on sore muscles, bruises, sprains, strains, and more. I recently found that I was out of the salve and in my journey to find more, I quickly realized that all of the brands at my local stores contained petroleum products in some form. I was so disappointed, because even at the health food stores, petrolatum (a form of petroleum) was still one of the first ingredients. I knew right then that I needed to make my own.

I make these in big batches so that I have enough to share with family and friends. Feel free to cut the recipe in half if you think it will be too much. You can find the dried arnica flowers at any local herb shop or online. The instructions for both salve recipes are the same.

Click Here for Full Recipe and Step-by-Step Instructions: Pain Relieving Coconut Oil Arnica Salve Recipe

