kombucha

Its this time of year, the cold days of late fall and early winter that I crave sweet spices: cinnamon, ginger, cloves. I flavor my cookies with them. I season my wine with them, and even my vinaigrettes for salad. And one of my favorite ways to use these sweet spices so beloved in wintertime is by flavoring my home-brewed kombucha tea with them. Cinnamon, ginger and cloves complement the sour and faintly sweet flavor of kombucha tea, resulting in an exquisite version of the probiotic beverage that is rich with flavor, and utterly delightful. I pour the spiced kombucha tea over ice.

What Is Kombucha?

Kombucha is a traditionally fermented tea that, like all fermented foods, is extraordinarily rich in beneficial bacteria those same bacteria that help to support gut health and immune system function. And, like most fermented foods, kombucha is blessedly simple to make requiring little more effort or knowledge than youd need in making a simple sweet tea. Kombucha is brewed and fermented by the way of a SCOBY, or a symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeasts, this is also referred to as a mother (you can see an image of a kombucha mother pictured above). You can learn more about kombuchas history and how it supports health and wellness here.

Cinnamon Spice Kombucha

Ingredients
  • whole cloves (buy organic cloves here)
  • cinnamon stick (buy organic cinnamon sticks here)
  • grated ginger
  • apple juice
  • kombucha tea (learn how to brew kombucha here)

Click here for the full recipe and instructions A Recipe for the Holidays: Cinnamon Spice Kombucha

